ads.dev.int.revelian.com

This is where you should report issues arising from the subscription filters.

Moderator: EasyList Authors

Post Reply
strepto
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:48 am
Reputation: 0

ads.dev.int.revelian.com

Post by strepto » Thu Feb 21, 2019 1:23 am

Hi, looks like the "ads" part of our URL is hitting the filter. Chrome debug window suggests the rule in question is

Code: Select all

://ads.$domain=~.......
although I'm not sure why it would trigger it.

Anyway, this url is an API that's nothing to do with ad content, rather, assessments. It won't resolve for you as it's an internal development url but in future we'll be using ads.revelian.com or similar so I wanted to get the problem sorted in advance if possible. Whitelisting the top level domain (have a look and see what we do by all means) would sort it if possible.

Cheers guys

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8611
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 144

Post by intense » Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:46 am

fixed for uBo (ublock origin adblocker)
https://github.com/uBlockOrigin/uAssets ... 2deec06487

for other adblockers / lists wait for the easylist authors

strepto
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:48 am
Reputation: 0

Post by strepto » Fri Feb 22, 2019 12:54 am

Thanks!

Be great to get the whole domain whitelisted if we can, not sure exactly what URLs we'll use in the future but most likely they'll start with ADS and end with revelian.com.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 14759
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 175
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 1:03 am

Avoid using subdomains, folders or files with name that match with generic filters in easylist.

Edit
for Adblock Plus use the developer tools panel to check blockable items
https://adblockplus.org/development-bui ... ools-panel
https://adblockplus.org/forum/viewtopic ... 10&t=43791
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or imgbb.com to upload your screenshots

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8611
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 144

Post by intense » Fri Feb 22, 2019 8:12 am

@strepto You know now the implications, so it's much better choose not blockable subdomains in the future.

strepto
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:48 am
Reputation: 0

Post by strepto » Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:51 am

Yes and no... I get what you are saying, but I'm having trouble finding exactly which rule caused it to be blocked in the first place on the link provided above. Blocking anything that starts with "ads." (which is what is looks like) seems a touch overzealous :)

Besides which, I'm not necessarily the person who decides which subdomain to give to an API. I'm just here to debug the problem.

If you guys could help me understand what triggered the block I would have more ammo to feed back to those making decisions about these things.

Cheers :)

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8611
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 144

Post by intense » Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:42 am

Any adblocker has its own logger where you can see the triggered filter and what element is blocked by that filter.

For example:
uBo (ublock origin) logger:
https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/wiki/The-logger

ABP logger:
https://adblockplus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=54493

strepto
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:48 am
Reputation: 0

Post by strepto » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:52 pm

Yes I know, that's how I found out what was blocking it, as referenced in my initial post. Still can't see how the rule in question would get triggered in this case.

This is the complete rule from the generic filter, as reported by the debug console:

Code: Select all

://ads.$domain=~ads.ac.uk|~ads.adstream.com.ro|~ads.am|~ads.bigbom.com|~ads.colombiaonline.com|~ads.comeon.com|~ads.elcarado.com|~ads.google.com|~ads.harvard.edu|~ads.lapalingo.com|~ads.lordlucky.com|~ads.mobilebet.com|~ads.msstate.edu|~ads.nc|~ads.nimses.com|~ads.quasaraffiliates.com|~ads.red|~ads.route.cc|~ads.sk|~ads.socialtheater.com|~ads.toplayaffiliates.com|~ads.viksaffiliates.com|~ads.watson.ch|~ads.xtribeapp.com|~badassembly.com|~caravansforsale.co.uk|~fusac.fr|~memo2.nl|~reempresa.org|~seriouswheels.com
Not sure how this pattern matches https://ads.dev.int.revelian.com

Please feel free to tell me if I missing something obvious! :)

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 8611
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 144

Post by intense » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:57 pm

://ads. is matching your site address.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 14759
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 175
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 12:52 am

If you change https://ads.dev.int.revelian.com/ to ==> https://api.dev.int.revelian.com/ that will solve your issue.
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or imgbb.com to upload your screenshots

strepto
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:48 am
Reputation: 0

Post by strepto » Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:38 pm

So the list blocks *every* url that starts with the subdomain "ads." by default? That seems a touch excessive. And still doesn't seem to match the rule above, unless I'm reading it wrong, which I suppose I must be. I assumed it was a blacklist but I suppose it must be a whitelist, or something.

Anyway, thanks for the info.

P.S. Yes I know re api.<domain>, we already have one of those. Will talk to the powers that be about naming.

Post Reply