art19.com

This is where you should report issues arising from the subscription filters.
ZiggyTheHamster

art19.com

Post by ZiggyTheHamster »

Hi!

I'm a software engineer for ART19, and we're having some false positives that are causing issues. When our users work with advertisements, the API calls all go to URLs containing advertisements. This gets blocked, which causes the app not to function. We also have URLs with ad-rep, ad_rep, and advertiser in the URL. All of our ads are audio files which are embedded within other audio files which eventually come from a CDN, so blocking these endpoints in EasyList causes us to get support calls rather than ads blocked.

How can I get some whitelists? I'm happy to submit a PR if there's a documented process for that. I definitely don't want to do an annoying "disable your adblocker" thing, especially since these are just the API endpoints that represent the abstract concept of an advertisement, advertiser, or ad rep and not actual ads themselves. From reading the EasyList policy, I think that it should be policy to fix these false positives, but feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks! I really appreciate what you guys do, as an EasyList user myself :)
smed79
Liste AR/FR Author
Liste AR/FR Author

Post by smed79 »

Hi,

how to reproduce the issue?
•► Read RULES / Use forum Search
••► Don't post clickable links
•••►Upload screenshots at imgbb.com
ZiggyTheHamster

You cannot; this is something that our customers are running into. If you were a customer with the appropriate roles, you would get an error toast notification and a broken app whenever you navigated to any campaign or advertisement related pages. The current advice/support ticket script is to have them disable their ad blocker for our domain, but some of them have routers which have ad blocking enabled and they don't know how to turn it off.