cnn.com

Here you should report unblocked ads, trackers, social media items, annoyances or leftovers from blocked content.

Moderator: EasyList Authors

adref
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 1:36 am
Reputation: 0

cnn.com

Post by adref » Mon Jul 11, 2016 2:55 pm

smartasset.com ad
URL: http://money.cnn.com/2016/07/10/pf/amazon-prime-day-sales/index.html
Filters: EasyList & EasyPrivacy
Ref image: http://imgur.com/MSAWAps

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13294
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:41 pm

Code: Select all

###smartassetcontainer
||smartasset.com^$third-party
||dr5dymrsxhdzh.cloudfront.net^
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

romjongrey
Guest

Post by romjongrey » Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:42 am

Based on the url i am guessing these should be blocked

Code: Select all

http://edition.i.cdn.cnn.com/.a/1.297.0/js/cnn-analytics.min.js
http://edition.i.cdn.cnn.com/.a/1.297.0/js/cnn-analytics.min.js
http://data.cnn.com/1m/sp/imm.dat
example: http://edition.cnn.com/

romjongrey
Guest

Post by romjongrey » Sat Sep 17, 2016 3:26 am

reCAPTCHA is only showing up with a new thread and i cant post a reply. this needs to be added to the cnn.com thread (thanks mod!)

Woops I repeated an entry instead of also posting:

Code: Select all

http://data.cnn.com/jsonp/breaking_news/international.json?callback=CNNBreakingNewsCallback

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13294
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Sat Sep 17, 2016 3:32 am

romjongrey wrote:reCAPTCHA is only showing up with a new thread and i cant post a reply.
register and post without any restrictions ucp.php?mode=register (forum rules).
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

Khrin
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 3515
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:50 pm
Reputation: 21

Post by Khrin » Sat Sep 17, 2016 10:45 am

adref wrote:smartasset.com ad
URL: http://money.cnn.com/2016/07/10/pf/amazon-prime-day-sales/index.html
Filters: EasyList & EasyPrivacy
Ref image: http://imgur.com/MSAWAps
Added: https://github.com/easylist/easylist/co ... b676b346b7

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 849
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 5

Post by gotitbro » Wed Oct 12, 2016 9:33 am

Content blocked under the "Featured Sections" tab on edition.cnn.com.

Before adblock: http://i.imgur.com/hqZR1S4.png
After adblock: http://i.imgur.com/mCTirAN.png

Error URL: http://edition.cnn.com/

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Wed Oct 12, 2016 4:50 pm

it's due to experimental rules in ubo

You could:
- disable that list
or
- add this rule in "my rules" (not my filters ! )
* widgets.outbrain.com * allow
or directly allow in dynamic filtering widgets.outbrain.com
or
report at https://github.com/uBlockOrigin/uAssets/issues

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 849
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 5

Post by gotitbro » Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:59 pm

I wasn't using the Experimental filters but Peter Lowe's list was causing the content to be blocked in my case.

If I allow widgets.outbrain.com won't it cause the OutBrain content to load on websites? And where to add dynamic filters?

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Wed Oct 12, 2016 7:02 pm

add this rule in "my rules" (not my filters ! )

Code: Select all

* widgets.outbrain.com * allow

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 849
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 5

Post by gotitbro » Wed Oct 12, 2016 7:14 pm

intense wrote:add this rule in "my rules" (not my filters ! )

Code: Select all

* widgets.outbrain.com * allow
I was referring to
or directly allow in dynamic filtering widgets.outbrain.com

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Wed Oct 12, 2016 7:16 pm


gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 849
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 5

Post by gotitbro » Wed Oct 12, 2016 7:30 pm

intense wrote:https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/wiki/Dynamic-filtering:-quick-guide
I see, can I not create a static filter for allowing widget.outbran.com only on edition.cnn.com?

okiehsch
uBlock Origin Author
uBlock Origin Author
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 9:00 pm
Reputation: 7

Post by okiehsch » Wed Oct 12, 2016 9:03 pm

Code: Select all

@@||widgets.outbrain.com/outbrain.js$script,domain=edition.cnn.com

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Wed Oct 12, 2016 9:09 pm

read again:
Third column: local dynamic filtering rules, i.e. whatever rule appears in this column applies to the current site only:

Code: Select all

edition.cnn.com widgets.outbrain.com * allow

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 849
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 5

Post by gotitbro » Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:36 am

intense wrote:read again:
Third column: local dynamic filtering rules, i.e. whatever rule appears in this column applies to the current site only:

Code: Select all

edition.cnn.com widgets.outbrain.com * allow
Adding that rule doesn't work. The only thing that's worked so far is disabling Peter Lowe's list.

okiehsch
uBlock Origin Author
uBlock Origin Author
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 9:00 pm
Reputation: 7

Post by okiehsch » Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:50 am

Add

Code: Select all

@@||widgets.outbrain.com/outbrain.js$script,domain=edition.cnn.com
@@||storage.outbrain.com$script,domain=edition.cnn.com
@@||images.outbrain.com$image,domain=edition.cnn.com
cnn.com#@#.OUTBRAIN
works with ublock.

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 849
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 5

Post by gotitbro » Fri Oct 14, 2016 10:03 am

works with ublock.[/quote]
You're right, that does display the hidden OutBrain content. Thanks okiehsch.

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 849
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 5

Post by gotitbro » Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:24 am

Blank ad banner at the bottom of the page on http://money.cnn.com.
Error URL: http://money.cnn.com/gallery/news/economy/2014/12/07/travel-dream-reality/

This can be hidden by:

Code: Select all

cnn.com##.medianet
EasyList already contains:

Code: Select all

cnn.com###medianet

Khrin
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 3515
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:50 pm
Reputation: 21

Post by Khrin » Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:46 pm


adref
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 1:36 am
Reputation: 0

Post by adref » Thu May 11, 2017 5:22 pm

Videos not playing using ABP & Chrome 58.0.3029.110 (64-bit).
Filter lists: EasyList & EasyPrivacy
URL:

Code: Select all

http://www.cnn.com/videos/cnnmoney/2017/05/11/stephen-colbert-mock-termination-letter-comey-draft-jnd-orig-vstan.cnn
 ! Message from: smed79
Removed your link links

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Thu May 11, 2017 5:56 pm

No issues for me. Try disabling all other extensions, test again.

rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Post by rhanajoy » Sun Jun 11, 2017 6:29 pm

Hi! "Paid Partner Content" is getting through EasyList in Firefox, Chrome, and MS Edge with AdBlock (latest release, filter lists updated today, cookies+cache cleaned). I'm using the following custom filter:

Code: Select all

||outbrain.com^
Firefox and MS Edge have a "Paid Partner Content" in the right sidebar on CNN.com, about halfway down the page. Here are screenshots from Firefox, but it's the same in Edge:

Code: Select all

https://i.gyazo.com/dac0c3f78304ea08ee70f8844e097be7.png
on this page:

Code: Select all

http://www.cnn.com/2017/06/11/tennis/french-open-nadal-wawrinka-decima/index.html
Chrome is the same as on Firefox and Edge, with the addition of this section under the big video near the bottom of the home page:

Code: Select all

https://i.gyazo.com/32b9ec9a08ae5facf996b0b0b77fa4c9.jpg
and this section in the right sidebar on interior pages:

Code: Select all

https://i.gyazo.com/ebf2eb6cee39769d0bb55702f2a5c361.png
Sample page:

Code: Select all

http://www.cnn.com/2017/06/11/tennis/french-open-nadal-wawrinka-decima/index.html
Adblock Plus 1.13.2 is the same on Chrome, with the addition of a third "Paid Partner Content" section just above the big video near the bottom of the home page:

Code: Select all

https://i.gyazo.com/1039ef8e01abbb34bd0007eb8d1eb0c2.jpg
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13294
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:22 am

Hello,

@rhanajoy » Not able to reproduce in AdB and ABP / Firefox and Chrome.
- http://i.imgur.com/exCNOlv.png
- http://i.imgur.com/7h7SNXp.png

Paid content is hiden by

Code: Select all

##a[onmousedown^="this.href='http://paid.outbrain.com/network/redir?"][target="_blank"]
cnn.com##a[href^="https://cnnmoneytransfers.com/"]
cnn.com##a[href^="https://www.cnnmoneytransfers.com/"]
... at the exception of the outbrain paid content at the sidebar http://i.imgur.com/eAlYmTT.png
on this page ==> http://edition.cnn.com/2017/06/11/tennis/french-open-nadal-wawrinka-decima/index.html

needed filter

Code: Select all

##[id^="sponsored-outbrain-"]
or

Code: Select all

##div[data-bundle="adzones"]
If i add ||outbrain.com^ all outbrain contents will get blocked.
- http://i.imgur.com/m3ah8FY.png
- http://i.imgur.com/lGftj4n.png

The issue come from your side, test again in portable version using AdBlock and Adblock Plus.
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Post by rhanajoy » Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:51 am

Thanks, @smed79 will do.
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

gorhill
uBlock Origin Author
uBlock Origin Author
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:17 pm
Reputation: 3

Post by gorhill » Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:15 pm

smed79 wrote:
Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:22 am
@rhanajoy » Not able to reproduce in AdB and ABP / Firefox and Chrome.
- http://i.imgur.com/exCNOlv.png
- http://i.imgur.com/7h7SNXp.png
I can reproduce at will on my side with Chrome 61/ABP. My understanding is that the site creates its own shadowroot, overriding ABP's one, hence this disables all cosmetic filters.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:23 pm

yes, there is already an issue (on the bug tracker) about the circumvention on cnn (confidential one..)

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13294
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Sun Jul 23, 2017 5:39 am

Code: Select all

##.news-share
##.share-linkedin

Code: Select all

/adfuel-
/adfuel/*

Code: Select all

||turner.com/ads/
http://ssl.cdn.turner.com/ads/adfuel/modules/dhtmlxgrid.js
http://ssl.cdn.turner.com/ads/adfuel/modules/keypress.js
https://ssl.cdn.turner.com/ads/cnni/cnni_homepage.json

Code: Select all

||turner.com/analytics/
http://z.cdn.turner.com/analytics/cnnexpan/jsmd.min.js
http://edition.cnn.com/
https://arabic.cnn.com/
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

Khrin
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 3515
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:50 pm
Reputation: 21

Post by Khrin » Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:17 pm

Code: Select all

/adfuel-
/adfuel/*
||turner.com/ads/
I remember some very bad false positives with these filters in the past (withside effects like broken videos) and unfortunately I fear that it's still applicable today...

rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Post by rhanajoy » Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:05 am

@smed79 the following filters are blocking the Outbrain crap on cnn.com.

Code: Select all

##.news-share
##.share-linkedin
##a[onmousedown^="this.href='http://paid.outbrain.com/network/redir?"][target="_blank"]
cnn.com##a[href^="https://cnnmoneytransfers.com/"]
cnn.com##a[href^="https://www.cnnmoneytransfers.com/"]
||turner.com/analytics/
||outbrain.com^
Thanks!!
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

Post Reply