Facebook.com Sponsored ads posts

Here you should report unblocked ads, trackers, social media items, annoyances or leftovers from blocked content.

Moderator: EasyList Authors

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13287
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Re: Facebook.com Sponsored ads posts

Post by smed79 » Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:03 am

:idea: To remove the sponsored posts in facebook

1. Install Image Greasemonkey (Firefox and related browsers) or Image Tampermonkey (Chrome, Chromium, and related browsers - Opera).

2. Install the user script Facebook Unsponsored https://greasyfork.org/scripts/22210-fa ... nsponsored

Image
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:57 am

I tested the script in tampermonkey: it works fine for me.

BugFolk
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 11:41 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by BugFolk » Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:58 am

I came late to to this discussion. I saw the ads and thought they were blocked already, bummed to see they still aren't blockable. How is Facebook being able to able to make unblockable ads?

Chrome would not let me install the greasemonkey extensions either.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Mon Aug 15, 2016 6:03 am

for chrome you have to use tampermonkey
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... fkfo?hl=en

then go to:
https://greasyfork.org/en/scripts/22210 ... nsponsored

and click "install this script"

BugFolk
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue May 31, 2016 11:41 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by BugFolk » Mon Aug 15, 2016 6:13 am

intense wrote:for chrome you have to use tampermonkey
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... fkfo?hl=en

then go to:
https://greasyfork.org/en/scripts/22210 ... nsponsored

and click "install this script"
Still seeing annoying suggested stuff. grr. :x

Guest99
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2016 6:01 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Guest99 » Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:39 am

I don't remember the exact error. But it said something about a script being unresponsive and gave me the option to stop or continue the script.

The page movement became a little strange is what I meant. Like kind of jerky.

I was hoping an EasyList filter could take care of these sponsored posts.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13287
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Mon Aug 15, 2016 8:00 am

But it said something about a script being unresponsive and gave me the option to stop or continue the script.
Try to clear your browser cache https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ho ... efox-cache
& see https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/wa ... ive-script
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Post by rhanajoy » Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:18 pm

smed79 wrote:For the sponsored ads posts try this userscript https://greasyfork.org/en/scripts/22210 ... nsponsored - (how to install).
is working for me. I'm updating our KB article accordingly. Thanks, @smed79!
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13287
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:10 pm

rhanajoy wrote:Thanks, @smed79!
Thanks, @solskido (script author) :mrgreen:
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

Guest99
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2016 6:01 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Guest99 » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:24 am

I have the script installed with the current version of greasemonkey. It does not work even after clearing my cache.

Ad: http://i67.tinypic.com/flyonn.png

Greasemonkey add on: http://i66.tinypic.com/wqybko.png

Script installed:

Image

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:38 am

right: errors in firefox console

https://greasyfork.org/en/forum/discussion/10956/x

in chrome all fine, works well

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:42 am

try this userscript (it's the same script of solskido with a small correction)
https://greasyfork.org/en/scripts/22348-fb-remove-ads

solskido
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:28 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by solskido » Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:35 pm

I just updated Facebook Unsponsored to 1.4.2 to take care of the Firefox error. There's still work to be done to optimize it so it doesn't make the page laggy, but it's working as far as I know in both Chrome and Firefox now.
Guest99 wrote: It does not work even after clearing my cache.
Are there any errors in the console? What browser and version are you using?

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:11 pm

well, now, with the new version 1.4.2 seems all fine (in firefox too)

Juryiel
New Member
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 6:49 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Juryiel » Tue Aug 16, 2016 6:51 pm

Looks like Facebook updated again and Suggested Posts are getting through the new script.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:35 pm

still working 1.4.2, what browser are you using ?

Juryiel
New Member
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 6:49 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Juryiel » Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:43 pm

I'm using Chrome - it was working for a couple of days but now some Suggested Posts are getting through.

Juryiel
New Member
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 6:49 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Juryiel » Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:50 pm

Hmm not sure what's going on exactly - I saw 3 or 4 earlier but I'm not seeing them again now. Could be that they have a few different ways to mark them and only some of them get through. I'll keep watching to see if I see them again and maybe grab the html if I do.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Tue Aug 16, 2016 8:58 pm

Are you talking about the userscript in tampermonkey, right ?

Juryiel
New Member
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 6:49 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Juryiel » Tue Aug 16, 2016 9:15 pm

Yes, the tampermonkey userscript. It wasn't working for a bit earlier in that some posts were getting through it (version 1.4.2). I blocked about 3 pages that did so - but since then I haven't seen anything get through.

Guest99
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2016 6:01 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Guest99 » Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:09 pm

@solskido

There are several errors "TypeError: stories.forEach is not a function"

Code: Select all

Warning: NetUtil.asyncFetch() requires the channel to have one of the security flags set in the loadinfo (see nsILoadInfo). Please create channel using NetUtil.newChannel()
http://pastebin.com/7QNh0k6J

http://pastebin.com/hUrWB0TG

Guest99
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2016 6:01 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Guest99 » Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:21 pm

After updating to 1.4.2 it seems to be working :D

solskido
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:28 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by solskido » Wed Aug 17, 2016 1:44 am

Glad to hear it. I don't think that second error you posted is coming from this script btw

derekpock
Guest

Post by derekpock » Wed Aug 17, 2016 7:00 am

Facebook feed is showing "sponsored" facebook posts from companies that pay for ads (such as Snickers, as seen in the image below).

This should be blocked, as it is an advertisement.

http://i.imgur.com/9KTP7SF.png

Guest99
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2016 6:01 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Guest99 » Wed Aug 17, 2016 10:00 am

@solskido

I found a bug I think. With this script I can no longer use Page Up, Down, Home and End on my keyboard on Facebook.

solskido
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:28 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by solskido » Wed Aug 17, 2016 1:09 pm

Guest99 wrote:I found a bug I think. With this script I can no longer use Page Up, Down, Home and End on my keyboard on Facebook.
Can you disable the userscript and try again? It would help to confirm if the problem only occurs with the script enabled.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Wed Aug 17, 2016 1:11 pm

It's all fine here, page up, down, home, end, working in firefox / chrome on FB.

rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Post by rhanajoy » Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:56 pm

@solskido, are any tweaks required for sites that aren't in English? We have a Dutch user who's seeing "Gesponsord" ads instead of "Sponsored" ads in his Facebook. :)

Also, is there an equivalent to Greasemonkey/Tampermonkey and Facebook Unsponsored script for Safari?
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

Guest99
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2016 6:01 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Guest99 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 12:06 am

@solskido

After disabling and enabling the script it seemed to work again.

solskido
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:28 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by solskido » Thu Aug 18, 2016 2:05 am

rhanajoy wrote:@solskido, are any tweaks required for sites that aren't in English? We have a Dutch user who's seeing "Gesponsord" ads instead of "Sponsored" ads in his Facebook. :)
The script targets the sponsored link by its classname, which I tested by setting my Facebook language to Korean and it continued to work. I don't believe the "behind-the-scenes" portions of FB get translated, just the viewed text, which the script doesn't look at.
rhanajoy wrote:Also, is there an equivalent to Greasemonkey/Tampermonkey and Facebook Unsponsored script for Safari?
I haven't tried the script in Safari but I have no reason to think it wouldn't work in that browser. It's a user script, and there is a Tampermonkey extension for Safari. I can give it a try in Safari tomorrow and let you know.

Locked