IE11 Desktop Win8.1RT cannot open link to EasyList.

General information, announcements and questions about the EasyList subscriptions.

Moderator: EasyList Authors

Post Reply
Chris_top_he_r
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:11 am
Reputation: 0

IE11 Desktop Win8.1RT cannot open link to EasyList.

Post by Chris_top_he_r » Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:58 am

Hi. I've used EasyList and EasyPrivacy for years. I cannot remember getting redirects and having any difficulty. It was so Easy. Tonight I logged into a new local account on my Surface RT with 8.1RT and tried to install the Easy stuff. I hope I'm not going to be embarrassed by the answer to this problem. I wonder if it is because I'm super sleepy.

Here you can see I clicked the "ad EasyList..." link and got the dialogue box shown, that says..." Do you want to allow this website to open an app on your computer? From: https://easylist.to/" The buttons are either "Allow" or "Cancel".

Then I clicked "Allow" and got the Store notice, that says..."No apps are installed to open this type of link. (abp) Look for an app in the Store."

Sorry. Can't figure out your image loader. I thought I could upload screen grabs from my system. I'm too tired to upload to a website. Thanks for your help.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 113

Post by intense » Wed Mar 21, 2018 7:27 am

Use an image host like imgur.com then post here the link.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13328
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Wed Mar 21, 2018 3:43 pm

I've used EasyList and EasyPrivacy for years
EasyList / EasyPrivacy filter list for Adblock Plus or Internet Explorer Tracking Protection List?
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

Chris_top_he_r
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:11 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Chris_top_he_r » Wed Mar 21, 2018 6:11 pm

Hi. I know I saw someone's post notes about two minutes ago that said not to post clickable links. Now it is gone. How strange. I arrived here now with clickable links so I hope it works. Seems like imgur would provide me clickable links also, but I only glanced at it so far. I'll go back if necessary. What I signed in to attempt are the following OneDrive links. So here goes.

http://i.imgur.com/pbzPtfX.png

http://i.imgur.com/ypwf8J5.png

smed79
Not sure. I've had the Easyies on my Surface RTs. I launch IE11, click Tools, Manage Add-ons, click Tracking Protection, see screen grab. usually I see my list of about 5-7 protection lists, including the one you see here that is my personal one, but not the Easyies.

http://i.imgur.com/gkrzJTB.png

If those don't work, here below are the same urls with your img markups.

http://i.imgur.com/Wq48K1c.png
http://i.imgur.com/hQ80dIg.png
http://i.imgur.com/9lLY9Mt.png

--

MOD msg: moved your screenshot to imgur.com

Chris_top_he_r
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:11 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Chris_top_he_r » Wed Mar 21, 2018 6:34 pm

Sorry for the mess. Was using Vista SP2 on Dell because Surface RT was not allowing navigation with outlook.com and onedrive.com to get you the screen grabs. I thought this was due to ads but I don't know. Other URLS are working great with wipe and fresh install on Surface RT. So doing email at outlook.com and image uploads on Dell with Vista using Chrome. Then while on Dell with Vista, when jumping from Easy Forum email to new Chrome tab with post thread, my posts at Easy are garbled and messed up. So to use Easy Forum I have to go back to Surface RT. The links to images are working at my end. Hope for you too.

The last image shows the link for "Get a tracking protection list online" which is what I clicked to get your stuff. It gave me a 5 second redirect to the first image above. Today I tried the same link from IE11 for "Get a tracking protection list online" and now it gives me a 404. Are you folks legit? Whatever happened to iegallery.com? I guess that's when it was easy.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13328
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Wed Mar 21, 2018 7:03 pm

You should Install Adblock Plus first https://adblockplus.org/en/internet-explorer so that your browser can manage "abp" link.

Or add EasyPrivacy for Internet Explorer from https://easylist.to/pages/other-supplem ... iants.html

- http://i.imgur.com/1jHLQrU.png
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

Chris_top_he_r
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:11 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Chris_top_he_r » Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:54 pm

@smed79
I tried your links. The ABP .exe is only for Intel-compatible OS so won't run on my Surface RT, so cannot install ABP.

On EasyList links, I tried the German link and got the same failure screens that I posted above.

Looks like it's a no go for Surface RT. It is ARM-based and not Intel-compatible. Microsoft ported Windows 8.1 for the Surface RT and so we have Windows 8.1 RT. If someone (like maybe me doing my first compile in decades) compiled the .exe to allow me to run the install for ABP, I wonder what difficulties would remain.

I guess when MS pulled support for Surface RT, they took away something that allowed this to work in the past. The method I used to install on RTs in the past was simple. It was the link from "Tools" then "Manage Add-ons" and click "Get a Tracking Protection List Online".

Thanks everyone.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13328
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:46 pm

Did you try adding "EasyPrivacy Tracking Protection List for IE" ?
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

Chris_top_he_r
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:11 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Chris_top_he_r » Fri Mar 23, 2018 4:29 pm

Yes I tried EasyPrivacy link directly underneath the EasyList link. It gave the exact same error screens posted above. Then I turned on a handful of Services that I had off for security and standalone machine use. They included Windows Update, Server, Remote Management, etc., and it didn't make any difference as you probably knew. Then I remembered that over the years of learning how Microsoft locks everything down for RTs, I thought I better try my Microsoft account rather than the local account. It worked first try with this fresh Win8.1 RT installation, as you can see. Yet, when I click "Get a Tracking Protection List Online" it gives me a 404. The 404 is new. It used to let me browse and install. Not sure if Microsoft restored it from my automatically saved settings at OneDrive. Anyhow, it's there. I'll miss it when I'm on local account though.

http://i.imgur.com/HsFtXDa.png

User avatar
Ting Tong
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:38 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Ting Tong » Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:09 pm

FWIW and I did say this before I too cannot download this list.

Is there another way to update the IE11 tracking lists?

Please.

User avatar
krystian3w
New Member
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 9:03 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by krystian3w » Fri Mar 30, 2018 6:57 am

Ting Tong wrote:
Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:09 pm
Is there another way to update the IE11 tracking lists?
Should be updated lists when open again IE.
My used addons and browsersShow
Firefox 61 / Opera 53 + uBlock Origin 1.16.10 +/- Nano Defender 14.58

User avatar
Ting Tong
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:38 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Ting Tong » Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:07 pm

Here is the date of the easylists and they're 4 months old. https://image.ibb.co/fuYvLS/install_date.png

So they don't auto update as they should and I don't see how to change this?

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13328
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:50 pm

Ting Tong wrote:
Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:09 pm
Is there another way to update the IE11 tracking lists?
Again..., add the IE tracking list from
https://easylist.to/pages/other-supplem ... iants.html
https://easylist-downloads.adblockplus. ... rivacy.tpl (Last modified: 30 Mar 2018 20:41 UTC)
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

User avatar
krystian3w
New Member
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 9:03 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by krystian3w » Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:43 pm

And should update when only added / removed / moddified rule; comments and sensitivity case (TPL module in IE convert list to lowercase) may ignored.
My used addons and browsersShow
Firefox 61 / Opera 53 + uBlock Origin 1.16.10 +/- Nano Defender 14.58

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13328
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:27 am

An alternetive is to install a modern internet browser viewtopic.php?p=132897#p132897
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

User avatar
Ting Tong
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:38 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Ting Tong » Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:29 am

I tried again LYS and here are the results: https://image.ibb.co/ggaZVS/list_won_t_add_to_ie.jpg

Wish you guys could do this as this list is such a great idea. :(

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13328
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:13 am

To be sure, try on a second pc or reset Internet Explorer settings (check Delete personal settings) and test again.

PS: first save your bookmarks, passwords.
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

User avatar
Ting Tong
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:38 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Ting Tong » Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:41 pm

Smed79 :biggrin: :biggrin:

YES!YES! It worked! A reset and it took the list.

GENIUS :banana:

Only now I'm spoilt for choice and don't know which lists to keep.

https://image.ibb.co/dmfkMc/lists_installed.png

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13328
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:39 pm

Ting Tong wrote:Only now I'm spoilt for choice and don't know which lists to keep.
- Remove "EasyPrivacy" downloaded from microsoft.com
- Keep "EasyPrivacy Tracking Protection List" downloaded from adblockplus.org

PS: for your info, without using an advanced ad blocking extension in a modern internet browser you are not protected again mining crap.

- viewtopic.php?f=106&t=38230
- viewtopic.php?f=106&t=39115
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

User avatar
Ting Tong
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:38 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Ting Tong » Wed Apr 11, 2018 2:10 pm

:-) TFT. The mining thing is something new.

So do I keep this one?

Code: Select all

Name: EasyList
Address: https://www.microsoft.com/cms/api/am/binary/RWidzr

File:
msFilterList
# Title: EasyList
# Last modified: 09 Nov 2017 08:20 UTC
It looks a bit old to me. Can it be updated too?

User avatar
Ting Tong
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:38 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Ting Tong » Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:10 pm

You know what I'm so impressed with what you do here I want to help the good work and say thankyou from the people like me.

Can I give .............is there a donate somewhere? :banana:

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13328
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:27 pm

Ting Tong wrote:So do I keep this one?

Code: Select all

Name: EasyList
Address: https://www.microsoft.com/cms/api/am/binary/RWidzr
The filter lists hosted on "microsoft.com" are not up to date.
Replace easylist by https://easylist-downloads.adblockplus.org/easylist.tpl
Ting Tong wrote:thankyou from the people like me.
Thank you to you too and welcome.
Ting Tong wrote:Can I give .............is there a donate somewhere?
If you want to help for hosting easylist forum viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40214
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

User avatar
Ting Tong
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:38 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Ting Tong » Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:00 pm

The link doesn't work, do you take Paypal?

User avatar
Lanik
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 1479
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:44 am
Reputation: 25
Location: /dev/null

Post by Lanik » Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:52 pm

Yes DM me. And the link works for me.
"If it ain't broke don't fix it."

User avatar
Ting Tong
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:38 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Ting Tong » Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:25 am

One last thing - The Other List

I have tried to update it like before but it won't update.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 13328
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 130
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:13 am

@intense Currently I don't have "win Os" to test only a VM which crash all time, can you help here (PLEASE).
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »
•••► Use vgy.me, imgur.com or cubeupload.com to upload your screenshots

Post Reply