indiatimes.com

Here you should report unblocked ads, trackers, social media items, annoyances or leftovers from blocked content.
intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 10500
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am

Post by intense »

Try yourself, first blocking all scripts, then xmlhttprequest, and so on.
gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm

Post by gotitbro »

I blocked all scripts on the website the ads were still loading, then I blocked the inline-script on the page it disabled the clicking of ads but the ads were still loading.

After looking at the source code, I found this: https://paste2.org/FK0W4xtX on the timesofindia page.

The ad script is embedded in the page itself?
dhruvsahni
New Member
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:08 am

Post by dhruvsahni »

Thanks..it worked..Cheers
User avatar
smed79
Liste AR/FR Author
Liste AR/FR Author
Posts: 15839
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 »

gotitbro wrote:as a lot of data was being spent ... In the above case, the best we can do is hide them right?
in this case to save your data you can block colombia images

Code: Select all

||techradar.com/trcdem/
||indiatimes.com/toiitpic/
•► Read RULES / Use forum Search
••► Don't post clickable links
•••►Upload screenshots at imgbb.com
gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm

Post by gotitbro »

smed79 wrote: in this case to save your data you can block colombia images

Code: Select all

||techradar.com/trcdem/
||indiatimes.com/toiitpic/


You are right, for some reason I thought the indiatimes URL above was also being used to serve other images as well, the above filters work and can be used with ##STYLE[type="text/css"] + [class] to block and hide the ads.

Filters for some other sites with these ads:

Code: Select all

||indiatimes.com/toiitpic/
||techradar.com/trcdem/
||businessinsider.in/bimed/
||media.mensxp.com/mxcip/
||lifehacker.co.in/lhega/
||mediaresources.idiva.com/idivage/
gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm

Post by gotitbro »

For "Recommended by Colombia" ads: ||economictimes.indiatimes.com/itetpic/

LazyLoad Ad blank frame (http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/international/business):
economictimes.indiatimes.com##.lazyLoadAd
gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm

Post by gotitbro »

Blank ad iframes in the middle and bottom of article.

Error URL: http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2014-08-22/news/53112597_1_bitcoin-digital-afterlife-heirs

These frames end with /googleadarticle.cms for example in the above URL they load as:
http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2014-08-22/news/googleadarticle.cms

These can be blocked by:

Code: Select all

/googleadarticle.cms$domain=indiatimes.com
Khrin
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 3562
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:50 pm

Post by Khrin »

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm

Post by gotitbro »

@Khrin This filter in the EasyList @@||timesofindia.indiatimes.com^$image,~third-party
(3ba6af49d29...) lets ad images through which are served through the first party URL

Code: Select all

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/toiitpic/
See: viewtopic.php?p=110851#p110851

It would be better if this filter was changed to just block the third-party images instead:

Code: Select all

||timesofindia.indiatimes.com^$image,third-party
Khrin
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 3562
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:50 pm

Post by Khrin »

Where's exactly allowing adverts, can you give the exact link? I don't feel myself confident to block all third-party images in this case...
gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm

Post by gotitbro »

Khrin wrote: Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:48 pm Where's exactly allowing adverts, can you give the exact link? I don't feel myself confident to block all third-party images in this case...
You can check here:

Code: Select all

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/world/us/hundreds-of-companies-willing-to-build-donald-trumps-border-wall/articleshow/57458064.cms
The ad images below the article are served by the first part URL

Code: Select all

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/toiitpic/
Also what were you trying to achieve by the filter you added?
gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm

Post by gotitbro »

@Khrin I realize that you wanted to allow all first party images from timesofindia.indiatimes.com to load on all indiatimes.com domains. I thought the filter you added @@||timesofindia.indiatimes.com^$image,~third-party only applied to timesofindia.indiatimes.com domain and for some reason thought you wanted to block third party images from timesofindia.indiatimes.com (my mistake I apologize).

We should not add the the above filter however as the same domain is being used to load ad images. For the anti adb filter we can for the time being whitelist the specific URL:
@@||timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ad-banner-zedo$image
nowayjoy
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 4:05 pm

Post by nowayjoy »

using following code leaves "recommended by colombia'' in page everywhere

Code: Select all

indiatimes.com##A[onclick*="/click.htm"]
url

Code: Select all

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/world/us/white-house-asks-congress-to-probe-whether-obama-ordered-wiretap/articleshow/57480314.cms
 ! Message from: smed79
Removed your link links
sram_rey
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 7:18 am

Post by sram_rey »

timesofindia network is using their native ad network to deliver ads as articles. Their native ad network is called columbia and in page it appears as
"Recommended by Colombia". The technique they are using is proxying ad images as native images. The following are the some of the native namespace they are using for delivering ad images

Code: Select all

||indiatimes.com/toiitpic/
||techradar.com/trcdem/
||businessinsider.in/bimed/
||media.mensxp.com/mxcip/
||lifehacker.co.in/lhega/
||mediaresources.idiva.com/idivage/
||economictimes.indiatimes.com/itetpic/
But incase of timesofindia.indiatimes.com, the following filter will prevent blocking ad images as we are allowing all first party images.

Code: Select all

@@||timesofindia.indiatimes.com^$first-party,image
 ! Message from: smed79
Merged your topic forumsearch
gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm

Post by gotitbro »

@sram_rey This has been reported earlier viewtopic.php?p=114252#p114252.
If you are using uBO use: ||indiatimes.com/toiitpic/$important, I think this should be looked into and the whitelist filter be modified.

Blank ad in the left sidebar on http://economictimes.indiatimes.com.

Error URL:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/economy/policy/ban-on-cash-dealings-not-applicable-for-bank-post-office-withdrawals/articleshow/58032459.cms

Code: Select all

indiatimes.com##.internalAd
gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm

Post by gotitbro »

A music widget from the website http://gaana.com appears in the bottom right corner with the title " gaana of the Day". I am not sure how to block this, seems to be dependent on js.

SS: https://i.imgur.com/nC7oGjU.png
Error URL:
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/mumbai/oil-firms-sell-petrol-at-rs-29-litre-government-adds-another-rs-48-in-taxes/articleshow/58352435.cms
intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 10500
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am

Post by intense »

Code: Select all

timesofindia.indiatimes.com##[class^=gaana]
timesofindia.indiatimes.com##[id^=gaana]
gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm

Post by gotitbro »

Thanks, the second filter work fine itself as well.

Edit: For anyone wondering the music widget was loaded by the websites CSS, so it was just an element. Upon clicking it loads the full fledged widget's iframe: http://gaana.com/gaanawidget-v4

So hiding it with the filters suggested by intense should work fine.
gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 866
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm

Post by gotitbro »

Blank ad iframe below the photo gallery on http://economictimes.indiatimes.com.

Error URL:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/tech/dont-worry-atms-are-safe-from-ransomware-attack/dont-worry/slideshow/58701761.cms

This can be blocked by:

Code: Select all

/stocksad.cms
Khrin
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 3562
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:50 pm

Post by Khrin »

Racer
Forum Junkie
Forum Junkie
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 8:19 pm

Post by Racer »

hi,

colombia ads in m.economictimes.indiatimes.com

please help me to block them, tried quite a few filters here, but still cant block them

also news alert notification popup
intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 10500
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am

Post by intense »

Try (last filter only in uBo). Report back what ad is still visible and locate it on page.

Code: Select all

indiatimes.com##A[onclick*="/click.htm"]
indiatimes.com##[class^="sponsor"]
indiatimes.com##.ad.widget
indiatimes.com##[class*="adlist"]
indiatimes.com##A[onclick*="utm_source=Colombia"]
indiatimes.com##.internalAd
indiatimes.com##.cookie_info
indiatimes.com##.main-content > div[class]:matches-css(background-image: /timesofindia\.indiatimes\.com/toiitpic/commons/images/rbc-/)
intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 10500
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am

Post by intense »

for the popup stuff

Code: Select all

indiatimes.com###pushSec
indiatimes.com###backgroundPopup
Racer
Forum Junkie
Forum Junkie
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 8:19 pm

Post by Racer »

just a reminder, no ads in pc

only on my andriod, i want to block it on my andriod.

i have firefox and ublock in it, everything gets blocked except this colombia ads and notification.

should we use m. as its a mobile site


https://s9.postimg.org/t63zk4d9b/Screen ... 002947.jpg
Last edited by Racer on Sat Dec 23, 2017 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 10500
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am

Post by intense »

I cannot test on android. See if helps adding those filters above (add also "m." for all filters if you want)
Racer
Forum Junkie
Forum Junkie
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 8:19 pm

Post by Racer »

will test them, thanks a lot for the help !
intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 10500
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am

Post by intense »

probably the link you posted above is wrong:

the normal 1 would be:
m.economictimes.com ?
Racer
Forum Junkie
Forum Junkie
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 8:19 pm

Post by Racer »

just noted it,
could i added all the above filters you noted and change indiatimes to m.economictimes?
could that work ?
intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 10500
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am

Post by intense »

Probably wont work. Are you see ads or only the label "Ad by Colombia" ?
Racer
Forum Junkie
Forum Junkie
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 8:19 pm

Post by Racer »

i have changed to site name and added m and its working

https://s9.postimg.org/n7q69yevz/Screen ... 004917.jpg

now only by colombia word is there, no ad

Notification also gone !


it would be great if i can block by colombia ads text

thank you so much !!
Locked