binarus.de

German supplemental subscription
nAINbbH4YLbvgzpU

binarus.de

Post by nAINbbH4YLbvgzpU »

Hi all,

please forgive me if the following question is stupid. I am a newbie regarding filter lists, although I am a long time user of AdBlock Plus.

We have a website where we are trying to sell some devices which we don't need any longer, among them an electronic device made by Adlink Technology, a technology manufacturer who has been around for decades. To get a high ranking on Google, we have named the images which are embedded in the respective page to show the condition of the device like that: "adlink-din-96di-01-s.jpg" (and so on).

In this case, this turned out to be a bad idea. We were wondering why our browsers did not display those images and were searching for an error in our website and web server configuration for several hours until we got to the real cause of the problem: Obviously, AdBlock Plus (more precisely: Easy List) blocks those images because of the keyword "adlink" in their name. I know that there is (or was?) a big company named "Adlink" which does nothing than advertisements, so I understand why Easy List behaves that way.

Nevertheless, I would like to ask if Easy List's authors could do something about that. There are (or have been) at least two companies named "Adlink", one of them being evil (from most users' and filter lists' point of view) and one being good, so blocking images for the only reason that their name or alt tag contains the string "adlink" might be too hard.

If Easy List's authors can't do anything about it, we will rename the images and accept the lower ranking which probably follows.

Having said this: Thanks to Easy List's authors and the community for providing such a great product free of charge! I think it has saved us a significant amount of time and money over the years.

Regards,

P.