If you've been sent to this forum because one of the sites you're browsing has no images please see this.
If you're not sure if the site you're browsing is affected by this please check the link above.

hg.adblockplus.org intermittent global 404

Discussion of other internet issues.

Moderator: EasyList authors

Post Reply
barbaz
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:55 am
Reputation: 0

hg.adblockplus.org intermittent global 404

Post by barbaz » Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:06 am

For a few days, every day at around this time (I don't know when exactly it starts), every request to hg.adblockplus.org is returning a 404. I keep local copies of some of the (Mercurial) repos there, this "outage" is an inconvenience for keeping those up-to-date. Anyone know the cause of this and approximately how long it's expected to continue? A quick search of the issue tracker revealed https://issues.adblockplus.org/ticket/2906 but I don't know enough to be able to tell whether any of that is related...

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Lanik
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 1189
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:44 am
Reputation: 10
Location: West Coast, USA

Post by Lanik » Wed Sep 23, 2015 6:15 am

Have you tried asking over at https://adblockplus.org/forum/ ?

Reason I ask is I don't think Wladimir Palant frequents this forum all that much.
"If it ain't broke don't fix it."

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5452
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 28

Post by intense » Wed Sep 23, 2015 6:35 am

Probably you should file a new issue on the bug tracker about this specific behaviour.

barbaz
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:55 am
Reputation: 0

Post by barbaz » Wed Sep 23, 2015 3:05 pm

@Lanik: No, that forum unfortunately requires registration now, I don't want to register an account that I'm only going to use once or twice a year at most. I do have an account on their issue tracker though...

@intense: What component would you suggest I file it under? Is it fall under "Infrastructure", "Sitescripts", "Websites", or something else?


(BTW, as I expected hg.adblockplus.org is working at the time I'm posting this post.)

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5452
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 28

Post by intense » Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:12 pm

I'd file under Infrastructure, if something else will be changed by them

User avatar
Lanik
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 1189
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:44 am
Reputation: 10
Location: West Coast, USA

Post by Lanik » Wed Sep 23, 2015 6:16 pm

barbaz wrote:@Lanik: No, that forum unfortunately requires registration now, I don't want to register an account that I'm only going to use once or twice a year at most. I do have an account on their issue tracker though...
Make sense. I would agree with intense, you should file a bug in their bug tracker and I'm sure someone from their team will get in touch.
"If it ain't broke don't fix it."

barbaz
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:55 am
Reputation: 0

Post by barbaz » Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:02 pm

Sorry, looks like they removed the ability to select module when filing a bug, and I can't change anything other than description & my comments after the fact.

The bug report is https://issues.adblockplus.org/ticket/3115


I'm also wondering if any list authors who have repos on hg.adblockplus.org, see this issue as well?

barbaz
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:55 am
Reputation: 0

Post by barbaz » Fri Sep 25, 2015 4:33 am

upd: Their team is aware of the situation, they've found the cause, and already have a proposed patch. :D

In the mean time, they must have done something to mitigate it (at least as a stopgap measure) since I reported the issue - as IIRC the timeframe over which this problem occurs was shorter yesterday, and I'm not seeing it at all today..

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests