facebook.com

Here you should report unblocked ads, trackers, social media items, annoyances or leftovers from blocked content.

Moderator: EasyList authors

hellfire
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 4:02 pm
Reputation: 0

facebook.com

Post by hellfire » Mon Sep 04, 2017 1:49 pm

I don't know if a popup that asks you to do something count as annoyance but for me it's annoying. Facebook keep asking me to turn on notifications that i don't want to, and i really want to get rid of it. Clicking on "not now" doesn't get rid of it, it will appear later.

It happens on main page:

Code: Select all

https://www.facebook.com/
https://i.imgur.com/QaDkot1.png

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:42 pm

new annoyance ==> on the right column (chat column) ==> BUSINESSES FOR YOU
https://image.ibb.co/da4aOa/fbchatblock.jpg

for ABP:

Code: Select all

facebook.com#?#[data-testid="chat_sidebar"] > DIV:-abp-contains(BUSINESSES)
for uBo:

Code: Select all

facebook.com##[data-testid="chat_sidebar"] > DIV:has-text(BUSINESSES)

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 11851
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 96
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:33 pm

@intense So we need a specific filter for each language?

PS: FYI, I have locked the old FB topic (62&t=38181)
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:36 pm

Could be, I'm using the english one. Did you see the french / AR version ?

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 11851
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 96
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Tue Sep 12, 2017 2:46 pm

I ask because, for example for YT in this case #p123541 the text changes in relation to the language of the site: AD / ANNONCE / إعلان / 广告
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

hellfire
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 4:02 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by hellfire » Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:49 pm

any change to get rid of facebook-notification popup using filters? i'm not good at writing filters

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 11851
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 96
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:00 pm

@intense can you check please.
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:26 pm

It's not so simple, the scrolling seems to be inhibited without clicking one of the options.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:36 pm

You could try:
- turn ON what FB is asking
- when a notification is appearing on your PC (in the tray) try right clicking on it and turn it OFF.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Fri Oct 13, 2017 12:24 pm

Should be already hidden / blocked (the sponsored stuff). I see no such posts.
Did you update your lists ?

browser (version) ?
adblocker (version) ?
filter lists enabled ?

kellyclowers
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:04 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by kellyclowers » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:13 pm

not the above poster, but I am getting facebook "sponsored" ads too.

Firefox 58.0a1 (2017-10-10) (64 bit)
Adblock Plus dev build 2.99.0 (webextension version)
"acceptable ads" is off

EasyList (auto update blocked at work, but placing the manually downloaded txt from today in the extension folder and clicking update made it say "updating..." for a while and now says it was updated a few minutes ago. Also restarted browser)

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:25 pm

If you see the sponsored only at work, you should add all the facebook filters from easylist as custom filters.

nwojen
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:59 am
Reputation: 0

Post by nwojen » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:04 am

I'm also seeing sponsored ads all the time. Did updates just now and it's still there.

Firefox 56.0 (64bits) - latest
Adblock Plus 2.9.1 - latest
filters turned on
"acceptable ads" off
EasyList updated now (19/10/17 9:03 UTC+2)
AdBlock active on FB

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:07 am

Install the last beta build (ABP)
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addo ... sions/beta

2.9.1 is outdated

nwojen
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:59 am
Reputation: 0

Post by nwojen » Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:10 pm

Ok, I updated ABP to latest beta (2.99.0.1889beta) and I'm still seeing sponsored ads.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:15 pm

Could you upload a screenshot where I can see those sponsored posts ?

apokroton
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:04 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by apokroton » Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:49 pm

Hi, here a screenshot
https://s1.postimg.org/2j7kk3ssun/untitled2.jpg

thanks for investiganting.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 11851
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 96
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:03 pm

@apokroton test this filter

Code: Select all

facebook.com#?#div[id^="hyperfeed_story_id_"]:-abp-has(a:-abp-contains(Sponsorizzata))
@Khrin fyi.
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

apokroton
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:04 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by apokroton » Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:37 pm

Sorry I have to adjust my statement with a new different image (a different problem?) in the main column:
https://s1.postimg.org/4kel7q4vlr/untitled2.jpg
"Interesting news from pages that you appreciate"
.... but I NEVER clicked on the page called "O Macaseno" !!! is not curious?
thanks.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:44 pm

What about the sponsored posts ? (Sponsorizzata)
Provide always your feedback.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:58 pm

- if you see something like "People you could know" / or in italian "Gente / Persone che potresti conoscere" try this filter

english

Code: Select all

facebook.com#?#.fbUserStory:-abp-contains(People you)
italian (put the exact words or only the first of them)

Code: Select all

facebook.com#?#.fbUserStory:-abp-contains(Persone che)
- for "notizie interessanti" try something similar (I cannot reproduce right now):

Code: Select all

facebook.com#?#.fbUserStory:-abp-contains(Notizie interessanti)

nwojen
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:59 am
Reputation: 0

Post by nwojen » Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:02 am

I'm having the same issue as apokroton.
Here's the example of an ad: https://image.ibb.co/mKhErR/spam.jpg

I've modified the filter you proposed and created this one:

Code: Select all

facebook.com#?#div[id^="hyperfeed_story_id_"]:-abp-has(a:-abp-contains("Proponowany post"))
But it's not solving it.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 11851
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 96
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:05 am

Test without the quotation mark (") in your filter

Code: Select all

facebook.com#?#div[id^="hyperfeed_story_id_"]:-abp-has(a:-abp-contains(Proponowany post))
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

nwojen
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:59 am
Reputation: 0

Post by nwojen » Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:55 pm

Not working either...

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:59 pm

Try

Code: Select all

facebook.com#?#div[id^="hyperfeed_story_id_"]:-abp-has(a:-abp-contains(Sponsorowane))
I guess you are using ABP, right ?

nwojen
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:59 am
Reputation: 0

Post by nwojen » Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:47 am

That one doesn't work either.

Yes, I'm using ABP as stated previously.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:14 am

When you get again the sponsored stuff right click on page and save the page (you'll get a html page and a folder).
Zip it all and upload it on some server. PM me with the link.

germaloney11
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 3:29 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by germaloney11 » Sat Nov 04, 2017 5:20 pm

Would you be able to post the custom filter for Sponsored Ads on facebook please? I'm using AdBlock ("getadblock" not "Plus"). Can AdBlock use the same custom filters as ABP?

These are the ads I'm seeing:

Sidebar:

Code: Select all

https://i.imgur.com/TlYnVGK.png
On timeline:

Code: Select all

https://i.imgur.com/VCxvO9E.png


Google Chrome
AdBlock 3.18.0
Custom filters, EasyList, EasyPrivacy, Fanboy's Cookiemonster List

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 80

Post by intense » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:23 pm

AB should work as ABP (is using the same "engine"), but sometimes with some delay ..

Code: Select all

facebook.com#?#div[id^="hyperfeed_story_id_"]:-abp-has(a[href="#"]:-abp-contains(Sponsored))

germaloney11
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 3:29 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by germaloney11 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:48 pm

Do you mean a delay in the custom filter working? Unfortunately I'm still seeing sponsored ads on my feed and also on the sidebar.

Post Reply