indiatimes.com

Here you should report unblocked ads, trackers, social media items, annoyances or leftovers from blocked content.

Moderator: EasyList authors

-Mark-
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 7:46 pm
Reputation: 13

Re: indiatimes.com anti adb

Post by -Mark- » Fri Jul 08, 2016 12:09 pm

How would I know it's non-adblock plus ? Is there a list ? I'm on uBlock, so I post those which I use.

rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Post by rhanajoy » Fri Jul 08, 2016 6:25 pm

Hi, Rhana from AdBlock here. I'm having a hard time getting the anti-adblock methods to work on Timesofindia.indiatimes.com. This is what I have:

Chrome 51.0.2704.103 m

TamperMonkey with Reek's Anti-Adblock Killer user script

AdBlock 3.0.8 with AdBlock Custom, EasyList, Adblock Warning Removal List, Malware Protection, AakList all current today, and the following custom filters from this post:

Code: Select all

@@||indiatimes.com^$generichide
@@||hindustantimes.com^$script
@@||amarujala.com^$generichide
@@||amarujala.com/*ad$script
@@||mensxp.com^$generichide
@@||indiatimes.com/*ad$script,domain=indiatimes.com
indiatimes.com#@#div[id^="div-gpt-ad"]
||hindustantimes.com/_js/browser-detect.min.js,BlockerScript.js
||media.mensxp.com/resources/theme_migration/js/detector.min.js?*
/browser-detect.min.js*
||hindustantimes.com/res/js/ht-script.js
...and I'm still seeing this when I click any link on the Times of India home page:

http://i.imgur.com/OuFHe2e.png

What am I missing?
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Post by rhanajoy » Fri Jul 08, 2016 6:41 pm

By the way, I tried with ABP, same custom filters + AakList. Same result.
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

User avatar
fanboy
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 9667
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:17 pm
Reputation: 16

Post by fanboy » Sat Jul 09, 2016 2:57 am

Force an update.

adref
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 1:36 am
Reputation: 0

Post by adref » Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:28 pm

URL: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/world/china/Explained-The-South-China-Sea-dispute/articleshow/53173502.cms

The page loads and as soon as you try to scroll you get this http://imgur.com/tWCt8jX. Same issue when you click other articles on the home page.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 11729
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 94
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Wed Jul 13, 2016 4:52 pm

Add:

Code: Select all

@@||timesofindia.indiatimes.com/toi_js_ads/ads/ve-1.cms$script
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

Khrin
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 3414
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:50 pm
Reputation: 13

Post by Khrin » Thu Jul 14, 2016 10:22 am


rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Post by rhanajoy » Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:47 pm

Aha! I updated my filter lists just now, have both Adblock Warning and AakList enabled, enabled Tampermonkey with userscripts It's Not Important and Reek's Anti-Adblock Killer, and the filters you suggested in this post. The anti-adblock warning is GONE.

Now to figure out what parts of that cocktail are strictly needed. :)
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Post by rhanajoy » Sat Jul 16, 2016 2:43 pm

Quick update: Well, to no one's surprise, the whitelist filters are needed to prevent the anti-adblock wall. The Tampermonkey scripts don't seem to make a difference one way or another. Even with the blocking filters, I'm still seeing a few ads on indieatimes, timesofindia, and economictimes but IMO they're tolerable.

Here are the filters that are working for me in Chrome with AdBlock 3.0.8:

Code: Select all

@@||timesofindia.indiatimes.com/toi_js_ads/ads/ve-1.cms$script
@@||indiatimes.com^$generichide
@@||hindustantimes.com^$script
@@||amarujala.com^$generichide
@@||amarujala.com/*ad$script
@@||mensxp.com^$generichide
@@||indiatimes.com/*ad$script,domain=indiatimes.com
indiatimes.com#@#div[id^="div-gpt-ad"]
||hindustantimes.com/_js/browser-detect.min.js,BlockerScript.js
||media.mensxp.com/resources/theme_migration/js/detector.min.js?*
/browser-detect.min.js*
||hindustantimes.com/res/js/ht-script.js
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6759
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 75

Post by intense » Fri Jul 22, 2016 8:14 am

for indiatimes:
example
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/markets/stocks/news/looking-for-future-thalaivas-of-dalal-street-top-analysts-bet-on-these-10-stocks/articleshow/53332788.cms

add

Code: Select all

@@||indiatimes.com/*ad$script,domain=indiatimes.com

IsraeliAdblocker
HebrewList Author
HebrewList Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 10:59 am
Reputation: 0

Post by IsraeliAdblocker » Mon Jul 25, 2016 3:03 pm

Code: Select all

@@||timesofindia.indiatimes.com/google_ads/ads/ve-1.cms
reported on Hebrewlist also:

Code: Select all

https://reports.adblockplus.org/09e6d64b-32c2-4e56-8ffd-69a0b4797258

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6759
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 75

Post by intense » Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:47 pm

Code: Select all

@@||partner.googleadservices.com^$domain=indiatimes.com
@@||clmbtech.com^$script,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||crwdcntrl.net^$script,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||chartbeat.com^$domain=indiatimes.com
@@||indiatimes.com^$generichide
@@$image,domain=indiatimes.com

rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Post by rhanajoy » Mon Aug 01, 2016 3:35 pm

Those filters are working, thank you!
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

dejawu
New Member
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:17 am
Reputation: 0

Post by dejawu » Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:22 am

First off, many thanks to Rhana and intense for all your help.

Just wanted to report, that Times of India has again started to show those annoying Anti-ADB popups. I am very curious to learn as to what to look for on the HTML page to identify and add custom filters every time TOI changes code on their end to identify ADB exists.

Thanks in advance!

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6759
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 75

Post by intense » Thu Aug 04, 2016 4:17 pm

still working here with the last filters above.
Don't use other blocking extensions, only 1 adblocker.

dejawu
New Member
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:17 am
Reputation: 0

Post by dejawu » Fri Aug 05, 2016 10:33 am

intense wrote:still working here with the last filters above.
Don't use other blocking extensions, only 1 adblocker.
intense, I disabled Reek's Anti-Block killer. That was the only one I had enabled. I have another extension AdsBypasser which I need for other web portals. Disabling that didn't really make any difference.

If possible, can you please try this web page and confirm if it works for you:

Code: Select all

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/hindi/bollywood/Bollywood-celebs-Instagram-pics-you-should-not-miss/Preity-Zinta-celebrates-16-years-of-Har-Dil-Jo-Pyaar-Karega/photostory/53553144.cms

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6759
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 75

Post by intense » Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:49 pm

add also
@@||ads.pubmatic.com^$script,domain=timesofindia.indiatimes.com

so, all the filters:

Code: Select all

@@||partner.googleadservices.com^$domain=indiatimes.com
@@||clmbtech.com^$script,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||crwdcntrl.net^$script,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||chartbeat.com^$domain=indiatimes.com
@@||indiatimes.com^$generichide
@@$image,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||ads.pubmatic.com^$script,domain=timesofindia.indiatimes.com

dejawu
New Member
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:17 am
Reputation: 0

Post by dejawu » Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:59 am

Great! Thanks a lot @intense. That additional filter did the trick!

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 741
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 4

Post by gotitbro » Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:01 am

Leftover blank iframes on webpages on economictimes.indiatimes.com and an incorrectly blocked Facebook frame too (the Facebook like frame appears initially but gets blocked after a few minutes on the webpage).

Error URL: http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/company/corporate-trends/board-okays-demerger-of-reliance-telecoms-circles-into-reliance-communications/articleshow/52905322.cms

Screenshot:
Image

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6759
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 75

Post by intense » Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:10 am

for the FB stuff: probably you are using the social list.

For the blank iframes, add:

Code: Select all

indiatimes.com##div[id^=google_ads_iframe]

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 741
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 4

Post by gotitbro » Tue Aug 16, 2016 9:58 am

intense wrote:for the FB stuff: probably you are using the social list.

For the blank iframes, add:

Code: Select all

indiatimes.com##div[id^=google_ads_iframe]
The 320*20 adsbg300 frames are still visible and I am not using any list besides English Easylist, wait for few minutes on the page and the FB icon will disappear.
SS:
Image

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6759
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 75

Post by intense » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:21 am

the FB like is inside adsbg300, so better don't hide it

add also

Code: Select all

indiatimes.com##div[id^=div-gpt-ad]

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 741
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 4

Post by gotitbro » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:29 am

intense wrote:the FB like is inside adsbg300, so better don't hide it

add also

Code: Select all

indiatimes.com##div[id^=div-gpt-ad]
Frames blocked completely with:

Code: Select all

indiatimes.com##div[id^=google_ads_iframe]
indiatimes.com##div[id^=div-gpt-ad]
Don't know what you mean by "better don't hide it".

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6759
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 75

Post by intense » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:47 am

you were talking about: adsbg300
and I told you the "fb like" stuff is inside adsbg300 class.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6759
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 75

Post by intense » Tue Aug 16, 2016 6:25 pm

last filters

Code: Select all

indiatimes.com##div[id^=google_ads_iframe]
@@||partner.googleadservices.com^$domain=indiatimes.com
@@||clmbtech.com^$script,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||crwdcntrl.net^$script,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||chartbeat.com^$domain=indiatimes.com
@@||indiatimes.com^$generichide
@@$image,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||ads.pubmatic.com^$script,domain=timesofindia.indiatimes.com
indiatimes.com##div[id^=div-gpt-ad]
@@||timesinternet.in^$script,domain=indiatimes.com

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 741
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 4

Post by gotitbro » Wed Aug 17, 2016 10:49 am

intense wrote:you were talking about: adsbg300
and I told you the "fb like" stuff is inside adsbg300 class.
Oh, I get it now. And your latest filters work :D .

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6759
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 75

Post by intense » Sat Aug 20, 2016 8:22 pm

last:

Code: Select all

indiatimes.com##div[id^=google_ads_iframe]
indiatimes.com##div[id^=div-gpt-ad]
@@||partner.googleadservices.com^$domain=indiatimes.com
@@||clmbtech.com^$script,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||crwdcntrl.net^$script,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||chartbeat.com^$domain=indiatimes.com
@@||indiatimes.com^$generichide
@@$image,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||ads.pubmatic.com^$script,domain=timesofindia.indiatimes.com
@@||timesinternet.in^$script,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||indiatimes.com/*ad$script

samvrush
Guest

Post by samvrush » Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:06 am

Timesofindia.com is asking to unsintall adblock plus despite adding it to whitedomain list

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6759
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 75

Post by intense » Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:27 pm

if you are talking about ABP for firefox:
- install the last dev build from https://addons.mozilla.org/downloads/la ... vbuild.xpi
- then add these filters:

Code: Select all

indiatimes.com##div[id^=google_ads_iframe]
indiatimes.com##div[id^=div-gpt-ad]
@@||partner.googleadservices.com^$domain=indiatimes.com
@@||clmbtech.com^$script,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||crwdcntrl.net^$script,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||chartbeat.com^$domain=indiatimes.com
@@||indiatimes.com^$generichide
@@$image,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||ads.pubmatic.com^$script,domain=timesofindia.indiatimes.com
@@||timesinternet.in^$script,domain=indiatimes.com
@@||indiatimes.com/*ad$script

bardiharborow
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 2:47 am
Reputation: 0

Post by bardiharborow » Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:43 pm

It's back again.

Code: Select all

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/surat/students-in-this-school-gets-bitter-punishment-for-misbehaving-in-class/articleshow/53872436.cms

Post Reply