slickdeals.net

Here you should report unblocked ads, trackers, social media items, annoyances or leftovers from blocked content.

Moderator: EasyList authors

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 10802
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 76
Location: EasyList Forum

Re: slickdeals.net

Post by smed79 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 12:04 pm

The filters above are suggested for chrome and they are not current so remove them an test using Firefox portable + only adblock plus + easylist.
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

Studly
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 12:42 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Studly » Mon May 01, 2017 12:50 am

I'm using Firefox and Adblocker Plus. The one site I'm having a problem with is Slickdeals.net, particularly this URL:

Code: Select all

https://slickdeals.net/newsearch.php?daysprune=7&vote=8&forumchoice%5B%5D=9&pp=100&sort=newest&rating=4&previousdays=7&forumid%5B%5D=9&hideexpired=1
When I go to that site, ads show up on the top, left side and bottom, or sometimes just parts of those locations, i.e., just the top and bottom, where I see banner ads. (If you don't see the ads, you may have to be loggen in.)

I checked previous form posts and solutions and added custom entries to block the ads (i.e., others have said when they do a search on slickdeals.net, ads appear), but they don't work to block the ads.

Is there anything I can add for a custom filter to block those ads? Thanks much for your help!
Moderator Message:
Merged your thread: rules#forumsearch
- smed79
Moderator Message:
Removed your link: rules#links
- smed79

User avatar
Lanik
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 1290
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:44 am
Reputation: 16
Location: /dev/null

Post by Lanik » Mon May 01, 2017 6:00 pm

With the below custom filters I see no ads:

Code: Select all

slickdeals.net###logoarea
slickdeals.net###rightRailAds
slickdeals.net##.ab
slickdeals.net##.announcementBar
slickdeals.net##.announcementBar[href="/blackfriday/"]
slickdeals.net##.giveaway.grid.fpGridBox
slickdeals.net##.heroCarouselWrapper
slickdeals.net##div[class*="sideGridBox"]
Note some of them won't apply to the page in question, it's just my collection.
"If it ain't broke don't fix it."

Studly
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 12:42 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Studly » Mon May 01, 2017 9:24 pm

Thanks for those. I installed that custom filter and it seemed to work, but on the third time of hitting refresh, I got three ads on the page, in the normal spots (top, bottom and left side).

User avatar
Lanik
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 1290
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:44 am
Reputation: 16
Location: /dev/null

Post by Lanik » Mon May 01, 2017 10:38 pm

Make sure you're only using a single Ad Blocker. I use Chrome with uBO and don't see the ads appearing when I browse around. Come to think of it I don't remember seeing one in a LONG time.
"If it ain't broke don't fix it."

Studly
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 12:42 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Studly » Tue May 02, 2017 12:00 am

Yes, I'm only using AdBlocker Plus with Firefox.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 10802
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 76
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Tue May 02, 2017 12:05 am

Firefox + Adblock plus i have no ads !!

Please test using Firefox portable + only adblock plus + easylist.
... & If you still see ads submit an issue report and post here the link.
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

Studly
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 12:42 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Studly » Wed May 03, 2017 2:34 am

smed79 wrote:
Tue May 02, 2017 12:05 am
Please test using Firefox portable + only adblock plus + easylist.
... & If you still see ads submit an issue report and post here the link.
Ok, I did that and still get ads, although I tried it without logging in, so you could reproduce it. The top ad is a bit different (in its shape and location), and there was no ad on the left side, as usual, but the bottom ad is similar to what I see when I'm logged in.

First, here is the report for the top ad https://reports.adblockplus.org/47e5c01 ... 0c61e2f002

here is the report for the bottom ad https://reports.adblockplus.org/278dab2 ... 42845e3b5c

And here's the report for the ad on the left side that I finally got to pop up https://reports.adblockplus.org/185d51e ... f01183ee2c

Thanks for your help!

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 10802
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 76
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Wed May 03, 2017 3:30 am

Test these filters

Code: Select all

###rightRailAds
##.bottomBannerAd
slickdeals.net##.ad
slickdeals.net##.ab
|blob:$domain=slickdeals.net
Scan also your system for malware / adware using Malwarebytes (free version) and AdwCleaner https://adblockplus.org/adware
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

Studly
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 12:42 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Studly » Wed May 03, 2017 4:02 pm

smed79 wrote:
Wed May 03, 2017 3:30 am

Code: Select all

###rightRailAds
##.bottomBannerAd
slickdeals.net##.ad
slickdeals.net##.ab
|blob:$domain=slickdeals.net
Thanks, much! So far those filters are working. I do run Malwarebytes and ADWcleaner regularly, and I've had these ads for a long time, so I don't think the ads are due to malware.

Studly
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 12:42 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Studly » Wed May 17, 2017 4:44 pm

The ads were gone for a while, and now they're reappeared. Here is the new issue report for the ads on top and on the left side:
https://reports.adblockplus.org/9c1c098 ... 4fd3bbdbbc

And here is the report for the ad at the bottom:
https://reports.adblockplus.org/2f1da6c ... 84a15f65a7

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5997
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 52

Post by intense » Wed May 17, 2017 7:01 pm

@Studly
Try disabling webrtc in firefox, see how-to:

Code: Select all

https://whoer.net/blog/article/how-to-disable-webrtc-in-various-browsers/

Studly
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 12:42 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Studly » Thu May 18, 2017 2:06 am

Thanks for the tip. What does webrtc do, and are there any valid reasons to have it enabled? Just wondering what I'll be turning off?

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5997
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 52

Post by intense » Thu May 18, 2017 6:23 am

The first words in that article will tell you what webrtc is doing.

Studly
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 12:42 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Studly » Sat May 20, 2017 7:59 pm

intense wrote:
Thu May 18, 2017 6:23 am
The first words in that article will tell you what webrtc is doing.
I'm not able to access that link or article because it's blocked due to an internet filter that is blocking all anonymizers/proxies. But will try to look it up elsewhere.

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5997
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 52

Post by intense » Sat May 20, 2017 8:26 pm

The WebRTC plugin (which means Web Real-Time Communication) allows to conduct audio and video teleconferencing just in a browser without any additional software installed. However, it reveals the true IP address of a user. The following steps help disable this function in browsers.
Disable WebRTC in Mozilla Firefox

Type “about:config” in the address bar, and you will see the list of parameters.

Find the parameter “media.peerconnection.enabled.” A search function will help you with this – just copy and paste this parameter into the search field. This option should be set as false.

Studly
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 12:42 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Studly » Sun May 21, 2017 11:50 pm

Thanks much for pasting that. I'll give it a try. Do advertisers use your IP address to target ads to your location?

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 10802
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 76
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Mon May 22, 2017 12:57 am

Studly wrote:
Sun May 21, 2017 11:50 pm
Do advertisers use your IP address to target ads to your location?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Targeted_ ... _targeting
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

Studly
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 12:42 am
Reputation: 0

Post by Studly » Wed May 24, 2017 12:57 am

intense wrote:
Wed May 17, 2017 7:01 pm
@Studly
Try disabling webrtc in firefox, see how-to:

Code: Select all

https://whoer.net/blog/article/how-to-disable-webrtc-in-various-browsers/
Thanks ... seems to have worked! Using your fix, I haven't had any ads for a couple days on that site.

runaway_ciabatta
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 6:24 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by runaway_ciabatta » Mon May 29, 2017 6:29 pm

No ads on this site with a clean Chrome profile + ABP + Acceptable ads enabled

Post Reply