sporcle.com

Here you should report unblocked ads, trackers, social media items, annoyances or leftovers from blocked content.

Moderator: EasyList authors

rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Re: sporcle.com

Post by rhanajoy » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:19 pm

Ah, OK, that explains that. (And sorry for posting clickable links.)

I'm getting the exact same results as @brossow, right down to testing with the latest ABP dev build. So just to confirm, the ads on Sporcle.com can't be blocked in Chrome consistently using custom filters?
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6684
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 74

Post by intense » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:41 pm

@Rhana, try these filters

Code: Select all

@@||sporcle.com^$generichide
@@.js?&$script,domain=sporcle.com

brossow
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 6:40 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by brossow » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:53 pm

Those filters don't do anything for me with the latest Chrome and the ABP dev build. I could post screenshots but it would be redundant.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 11697
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 92
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:14 pm

brossow wrote:Those filters don't do anything for me
please try

Code: Select all

@@||sporcle.com^$generichide
@@||www.example.com^*=|
@@|https:*.js$script,domain=sporcle.com
http://i.imgur.com/bCrvsNc.png
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Post by rhanajoy » Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:56 pm

Those filters are working for me, @smed79. Thanks!
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

thor
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 11:42 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by thor » Tue Aug 15, 2017 11:47 pm

I am having a lot of ads on sporcle now. They're on every page. I've applied all the filters listed here, but they're still coming back.

Here's an example.
http://i.imgur.com/JJL6OZ0.png

Thanks for any help!

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 11697
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 92
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Wed Aug 16, 2017 2:11 am

thor wrote:I am having a lot of ads on sporcle now.
No ads here !!
- http://i.imgur.com/9fFiXLs.png
- http://i.imgur.com/PQDjnT5.png

Be sure you are using only ONE adblocker / Disable all other addons, test again.
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

thor
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 11:42 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by thor » Fri Aug 18, 2017 7:14 pm

I'm only using ABP. I have disabled everything except that and cleared all my cookies, etc. Still having ads. Let me know if you have any ideas on what else I should do or need any more info from me.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 11697
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 92
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Sat Aug 19, 2017 12:06 am

Test in a portable version of browser https://portableapps.com/apps/internet
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

brossow
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 6:40 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by brossow » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:23 pm

I've now gone beyond just not having ads blocked on Sporcle to having the page layout seriously messed up when ABP is turned on for the site. I've removed all custom filters related to Sporcle. Interestingly, the page loads fine with no ads if I have the console open in Chrome. *shrug*

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6684
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 74

Post by intense » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:30 pm

yes, keep the console opened: that crap is testing if the console is opened and don't push anymore their mess.
or use uBo + uBo extra

brossow
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 6:40 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by brossow » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:44 pm

Brilliant! Hadn't heard of uBo previously, but it's now installed and working perfectly (at least on Sporcle). Many thanks!

intense
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6684
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:56 am
Reputation: 74

Post by intense » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:54 pm

just to be sure: did you install ubo extra too ? (companion ext which treats special cases)
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... ffkjpaplco

brossow
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 6:40 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by brossow » Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:58 pm

I did indeed -- both of the extensions you mentioned. :)

rhanajoy
AdBlock Community Manager
AdBlock Community Manager
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 10:40 am
Reputation: 2

Post by rhanajoy » Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:55 pm

This is the same crap that's started happening on MSN.com and Ottawacitizen.com. So far, we've only heard of it happening on these three sites (MSN, Ottawacitizen, and Sporcle). It may be something new that will spread to all InstartLogic sites.
Rhana
AdBlock Community Manager

Posting on behalf of AdBlock (not ABP), when users come to us first and we have some reason to get involved with the discussion. http://help.getadblock.com

Post Reply