Sponsored Links **eBay **

Here you should report unblocked ads, trackers, social media items, annoyances or leftovers from blocked content.
Locked
User avatar
Hubird
Adversity Author
Adversity Author
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:31 am
Location: Australia

Sponsored Links **eBay **

Post by Hubird »

User avatar
rick752
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:02 am
Location: New York, USA

Post by rick752 »

Why don't you try this for a bit and let me know, Hubird:
  • ebay.com.au#div(id^=rtm_html_)(style=height: auto; width: auto;)
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it"
User avatar
Hubird
Adversity Author
Adversity Author
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by Hubird »

** EDIT **

I was going to suggest a general rule/s based upon these:

Code: Select all


cgi.ebay.com.au#DIV(id=rtm_div_307)
shop.ebay.com.au#DIV(id=rtm_html_439)
buy.ebay.com.au#div(id=rtm_div_309)
buy.ebay.com.au#div(id=rtm_div_310)
shop.ebay.com.au#DIV(id=rtm_html_274)
shop.ebay.co.uk#DIV(id=rtm_html_439)
ebay.co.uk#div(id=rtm_html_274)
[/size]
(They are all ads)

I was then going to suggest a new rule

Code: Select all

my.ebay.com.au#DIV(class=alpdBt2px)
To remove some empty space on the Australian My eBay page

And

Code: Select all

.ebayobjects.*300x250;$frame
To remove an empty ad frame from the Australian eBay front page.

Suggestion:

Blocking one script seems to take care of ALL of them on both the Australian and UK version of eBay. The US and NZ versions of eBay seem to be different, the script is not present.

If you change:

Code: Select all

.ebayrtm.com/rtm?RtmCmd&a=inline&$script
To

Code: Select all

ebayrtm.com/rtm$script
You should be able to remove the following entries from EasyElement:

Code: Select all


buy.ebay.com.au#div(id=rtm_div_309)
buy.ebay.com.au#div(id=rtm_div_310)
ebay.co.uk#div(id=rtm_html_274)


I'm not sure about these:

Code: Select all

.ebaystatic./adserver
/eBayISAPI.dll?EKServer&
payments.ebay.com.au#div(class=pcontent)
User avatar
Hubird
Adversity Author
Adversity Author
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by Hubird »

** BUMP ** (Short Version) ;-)

Change

Code: Select all

.ebayrtm.com/rtm?RtmCmd&a=inline&$script
To

Code: Select all

 ebayrtm.com/rtm$script
Remove:

Code: Select all

buy.ebay.com.au#div(id=rtm_div_309)
buy.ebay.com.au#div(id=rtm_div_310)
ebay.co.uk#div(id=rtm_html_274)
Fulcrum
Guest

Post by Fulcrum »

Blocking that script will break many legit functions/features of ebay.
User avatar
Hubird
Adversity Author
Adversity Author
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by Hubird »

Looking at the script is looks safe to block.
And I've been using that rule for a while and so far it has not broken anything (and it is not like I have not been looking for unwanted side effects either)...


Have you any evidence to back up you claims ?
User avatar
rick752
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:02 am
Location: New York, USA

Post by rick752 »

I used to have that string in my list, but a couple of false positives DID started appearing a while back. I will check that out when I get home tonite.
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it"
User avatar
Hubird
Adversity Author
Adversity Author
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by Hubird »

EDIT: I have some more suggestions pending double checking. It looks to me like the Australian and UK versions of eBay are very similar and share the same ad naming schemes so making any UK eBay element hide also work for the Australian eBay site and vice versa might be useful.



Just found a problem with my proposed filter and one of your existing ones

Code: Select all

.ebayrtm.com/rtm?RtmCmd&a=inline&$script
Causes problems on:
http://stores.ebay.com.au/
Last edited by Hubird on Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
rick752
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:02 am
Location: New York, USA

Post by rick752 »

I have changed:
  • .ebayrtm.com/rtm?RtmCmd&a=inline&$script
to
  • .main.ebayrtm.com/rtm?RtmCmd&a=inline&$script
so it will only affect the US version. :arrow: :arrow: :arrow:

The other "rtm" scripts are still very questionable. I already went thru the rtm fiasco a while back. This one needs to be thoroughly tested by an avid U.S. ebayer.
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it"
User avatar
Hubird
Adversity Author
Adversity Author
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by Hubird »

Just found a problem with my proposed filter and one of your existing ones

Code: Select all
.ebayrtm.com/rtm?RtmCmd&a=inline&$script


Causes problems on:
http://stores.ebay.com.au/
My suggested code would have caused the same problem. Probably safer to go with element hides.

The Australian version of eBay is trialling a BETA page for some people at the moment. I will hold off posting my suggestions until they have finalised things.
User avatar
Hubird
Adversity Author
Adversity Author
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by Hubird »

http://search.ebay.com.au/search/search ... age=search

Code: Select all

ebay.com.au#DIV(id=rtm_div_274)
Hide some eBay sponsored links

Code: Select all

ebay.com.au#DIV(id=rtm_div_184)
Removes some empty space at the top of the page
User avatar
fanboy
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 12230
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:17 pm

Post by fanboy »

I've got *.ebayrtm.com/rtm?rtmcmd&a=json* which normally takes are of the ebay sponsored links, shouldn't a similar filter work well?
User avatar
Hubird
Adversity Author
Adversity Author
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by Hubird »

I'm having a bad case of deja vu !!

I'm sure there was a thread somewhere where Rick decided to go with your suggestion (or something very similar) but I could not find it :-?

EDIT:

Code: Select all

.ebayrtm.com/rtm?rtmcmd&a=json
Is in EasyList but it does not take care of these particular sponsored links.

Nothing in you "fanboy-baselist-adblock(alpha)" list takes care of them either.

EDIT #2

Code: Select all

.ebayrtm.com/rtm?RtmCmd&a=inline&$script
Which used to be in EasyList but was changed because it caused F/P at http://stores.ebay.com.au/ (mentioned in this thread) would take care of them.
User avatar
fanboy
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 12230
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:17 pm

Post by fanboy »

This is my active filter list, (no ads from the ebay.com.au site)

(using expanded+element filter)

Code: Select all


*/rover.ebay.com/*
*.ebayrtm.com/rtm?rtmcmd&a=json*
#DIV(class*=TextAd)
#*(class=topBannerAd)
User avatar
Hubird
Adversity Author
Adversity Author
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by Hubird »

Code: Select all

*.ebayrtm.com/rtm?rtmcmd&a=json*
From your "fanboy-sites-adblock" seems to take care of them and no F/P on http://stores.ebay.com.au/ either.

I was about to suggest something to block a 1x1 image (WEB BUG) that had information about the previous site I had visited:

http://rover.ebay.com/roverns/1/705-163 ... ype=static

and

Code: Select all

*/rover.ebay.com/*
Seems to take care on it.

@ Rick


Please add:

Code: Select all

*.ebayrtm.com/rtm?rtmcmd&a=json*
To take care of the sponsored links

And

Code: Select all

*/rover.ebay.com/*
To block the web bug
User avatar
rick752
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:02 am
Location: New York, USA

Post by rick752 »

I'll take care of that when i get back home sometime this weekend (still in Massachusetts right now)
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it"
User avatar
Hubird
Adversity Author
Adversity Author
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by Hubird »

rick752 wrote:I'll take care of that when i get back home sometime this weekend (still in Massachusetts right now)
No problem, enjoy your time off... I just wanted you to be able to see what needed to be added as easily as possible, I wasn't nagging...yet ;-)
User avatar
rick752
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:02 am
Location: New York, USA

Post by rick752 »

The first one already exists in the EasyList,

Added the second one :arrow: :arrow: :arrow:
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it"
User avatar
fanboy
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 12230
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:17 pm

Post by fanboy »

I'm sure we talked about the ebay stuff before... (and I thought it was resolved then?)
User avatar
rick752
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:02 am
Location: New York, USA

Post by rick752 »

fanboy wrote:I'm sure we talked about the ebay stuff before... (and I thought it was resolved then?)
Hmmm ... so did I.There were some false-positives associated with the last element hide suggesred there. I just visited the ebay.de example and see no ads there ... did I miss something? Is it a country-code thing?

Did Ares already take care of it in his list? I normally don't do DE sites for ads in the EasyList .... Ares list is the EasyList's supplement addition for DE ads.

There doesn't seen to be any problems with any English-language ebay sites that I know of.
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it"
Ares2
Emeritus Contributor
Emeritus Contributor
Posts: 4572
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 12:49 pm

Post by Ares2 »

I don't have any rules for ebay.de, everything seems to be fine with the existing filters in EL/EE.
User avatar
fanboy
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 12230
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:17 pm

Post by fanboy »

loaded the german ebay site

http://software.shop.ebay.de/items/Linu ... acatZ28855

with my filter, and it seems to block the ads with *.ebayrtm.com/rtm?rtmcmd&a=json* without it, it loads the ads at the bottom of the page
Ares2
Emeritus Contributor
Emeritus Contributor
Posts: 4572
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 12:49 pm

Post by Ares2 »

Yep, this one is in EasyList since November.
User avatar
fanboy
EasyList Author
EasyList Author
Posts: 12230
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:17 pm

Post by fanboy »

Hubird, did you disable Rick's ebay filter? :P
User avatar
Hubird
Adversity Author
Adversity Author
Posts: 1768
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:31 am
Location: Australia

Post by Hubird »

:-?

All I know is that it's all good now :?

I knew there was another topic about this somewhere but didn't think it would be on the adblockplus.org forum.
User avatar
rick752
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:02 am
Location: New York, USA

Post by rick752 »

:)
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it"
Locked