If you've been sent to this forum because one of the sites you're browsing has no images please see this.
If you're not sure if the site you're browsing is affected by this please check the link above.

[Test] Images / .gif animations don't load

Discussion of Mozilla products and their add-ons.

Moderator: EasyList authors

Post Reply
User avatar
rick752
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:02 am
Reputation: 0
Location: New York, USA

[Test] Images / .gif animations don't load

Post by rick752 » Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:08 pm

This is a nice troubleshooter post on Mozillazine for users having problems seeing some (or all) images in Firefox NOT related to Adblock Plus:

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=288184

(it's been there for a while ... thought that I would just post it here)

*Note: The EasyList does NOT block image #4 there. It is supposedly a test for an adblocker, but the EasyList doesn't block that particular string
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it"

IceDogg
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 9:50 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by IceDogg » Sun Jun 03, 2007 10:13 pm

WOW :shock: Nice find!

User avatar
rick752
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:02 am
Reputation: 0
Location: New York, USA

Post by rick752 » Sun Jun 03, 2007 11:06 pm

People point to that post all the time for people who have image-loading problems not related to using any ad blocker.

I find it funny that one of the pics isn't supposed to work if you are using an ad blocker. It works with the EasyList ... I don't use that string.
Last edited by rick752 on Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it"

IceDogg
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 9:50 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by IceDogg » Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:01 am

Yea, I seen all the pics just fine here too. And I add extra strings myself that would get FP's for most people.

User avatar
AmyRose
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:12 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Post by AmyRose » Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:30 am

Hahaha, EasyList doesn't block image number 4! :lol:
I've been Microsoft-free since March 28, 2004; OS: Kubuntu Linux 7.04 (Feisty) (KDE pwns GNOME)

User avatar
rick752
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:02 am
Reputation: 0
Location: New York, USA

Post by rick752 » Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:54 am

AmyRose wrote:Hahaha, EasyList doesn't block image number 4! :lol:
I know. That's pretty funny as I don't use that particular blocking string. It must drive the guy crazy who made that. :)

I probably should have mentioned that in my first post. :?
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it"

User avatar
AmyRose
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:12 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Post by AmyRose » Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:23 pm

rick752 wrote:
AmyRose wrote:Hahaha, EasyList doesn't block image number 4! :lol:
I know. That's pretty funny as I don't use that particular blocking string. It must drive the guy crazy who made that. :)

I probably should have mentioned that in my first post. :?
Hahaha, it wasn't an actual ad, though, so I actually think that's a good thing. :lol: (offtopic: I've been using Firefox 3.0a5 for a while and just upgraded to a6 and LOVE it...)

Filterset.G in Konqueror blocked #4 though.
Last edited by AmyRose on Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rick752
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:02 am
Reputation: 0
Location: New York, USA

Post by rick752 » Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:47 pm

AmyRose wrote:I've been using Firefox 3.0a5 for a while and just upgraded to a6 and LOVE it...)
Start a new topic and tell us what you like about it :) . We always like to know what's coming up.
"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it"

User avatar
AmyRose
Site Member
Site Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:12 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Post by AmyRose » Wed Jul 04, 2007 5:10 pm

rick752 wrote:
AmyRose wrote:I've been using Firefox 3.0a5 for a while and just upgraded to a6 and LOVE it...)
Start a new topic and tell us what you like about it :) . We always like to know what's coming up.
Just did! :D

alexemil5
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 7:50 am
Reputation: 0

Post by alexemil5 » Mon Dec 24, 2012 7:57 am

I am curious to know more... But how can I..
It sounds interesting topic, but info is too short.. Please post here more..

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests