Ads that show up in apps

General information, announcements and questions about the EasyList subscriptions.

Moderator: EasyList authors

Post Reply
TheEssemCraft
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 11:13 pm
Reputation: 0

Ads that show up in apps

Post by TheEssemCraft » Sun Feb 19, 2017 11:32 pm

Hey,
Is it possible to block ads that show up in Android games made with Unity, such as Geometry Dash World?
I am using DNS66.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 11473
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 87
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:02 am

julian-klode wrote:On the first start, you must manually update the hosts files (using the refresh button) issue #1

Image
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

zyme
New Member
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 3:29 am
Reputation: 0

Post by zyme » Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:52 am

Assuming the ad is going to an website of only ads (or ads and nothing you don't mind blocking) - and it's looking up a hostname instead of using a direct IP address, it should be possible & easy - *However: *Often* I've see blocked app adds continue to display with white banners where they use to be, which are almost as annoying if not more distracting. This will could depend on your OS and the App. Androids especially can vary in many different ways between devices, os versions, models, and manufacturers.

(Host file filters like said above) OR if you're device is locked down from host files - the almost identical, just as effective but often easier to implement and reconfigure: host file & dns based filters (you can always have a localhost or external dns server simply act as a forwarding server to your current DNS provider, if you're restricted to it by some requirement/preference), work for some ads, but are also easier for anti-ad-blockers to detect and are fairly limited with what they can block without blocking a bunch of legitimate connections at the same time.

If that doesn't work there are more complicated ways, using some brands of proxies, NAT gateways, or firewalls (same difference for our purposes) with packet inspection can filter specific url's like adblock/ublock etc. If the sites use HTTPS (as everything seems to be moving to) it's a little more complicated since you'll need to use one with it's own SSL cert which is trusted by your device. aside from that, as long as the APP or OS isn't predefining the space to leave you with a white box simply filtering it or replacing it with a 1x1 pixel sized picture in the filter will take care of that problem.

(Let this be a general starting guide for anyone with a similar inquiry, walkthroughs would be much longer and shouldn't be difficult to lookup =)
Hope this helps someone.

-Mark-
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 255
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 7:46 pm
Reputation: 10

Post by -Mark- » Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:46 am

Use Adguard for Android.

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 708
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 4

Post by gotitbro » Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:41 pm

zyme wrote:
Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:52 am
*However: *Often* I've see blocked app adds continue to display with white banners where they use to be, which are almost as annoying...
These leftover elements are also hidden by the MinMinGuard Xposed module
(https://forum.xda-developers.com/xposed/modules/xposed-minminguard-v1-7-0-cancelled-t2597332)
though it requires your Android OS to be rooted and have the Xposed Framework installed.

It does not work for all apps though.

User avatar
smed79
Liste AR Author
Liste AR Author
Posts: 11473
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:00 am
Reputation: 87
Location: EasyList Forum

Post by smed79 » Sat Apr 22, 2017 6:04 am

Another alternative is to install "DNS Changer - Lilly" and use setup Adguard DNS.

* Default (block ads, trackers and phishing websites)
176.103.130.130
176.103.130.131
* Family Protection (block ads, trackers and phishing websites + blocking adult websites + safe search)
176.103.130.132
176.103.130.134
•► Before posting, to find your answer fast, read Forum « RULES » and use « Search »
••► Don't post clickable links » use inline text bbcode notation « [ C ] » or « [ code ] »

gotitbro
Postaholic
Postaholic
Posts: 708
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:33 pm
Reputation: 4

Post by gotitbro » Sat Apr 22, 2017 11:39 am

@smed79 This can also directly be setup from the router as well (no additional apps to install) in the DNS settings.

Markk786
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 2:00 pm
Reputation: 0

Post by Markk786 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:45 pm

@TheEssemCraft were you able to block the ads??
If so please tell me too...

Post Reply